Sabbatical, Week One

Sunday evening, 7 April 2013; Westerville, Ohio

How to describe my first week of sabbath rest and renewal?  In a word, varied!

One part mundane:  I took care of lots of everyday life business:  doctor check-ups, dentist appointment, cleaned out a few things (and yes, made a trip to the Good Neighbor Thrift Shop!);

One part cultural:  Doug and I saw six films at the Cleveland International Film Festival, and a fantastic play at the Cleveland Playhouse;

And relaxing in many ways…I very much enjoyed the luxury of life without hurry and schedule.  Grateful for the gift of blue sky and sunshine, we walked every day and discovered the nest of baby owls at the Walker Road Park…

Saturday I drove to Columbus to spend the night with my parents.  This morning I had my first church visit:  to the First Community Church of Columbus where I worshiped at the 10 AM service at their north campus in Dublin and the 11:00 service at their south campus in Upper Arlington.  I took copious notes on my observations, which I’ll share with the Worship Planning Committee, staff and others (I even picked up a tip for our Stewardship Board!)  Here’s a picture of the worship space at the north campus:  Image and closer up:Image

The south campus features a traditional sanctuary, pipe organ, and 50+-voice choir (even on the Sunday after Easter!)  Here are a couple of outside shots:

ImageImage

First Community is dually-affiliated with the United Church of Christ and the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) and is an extremely vital congregation; they have their own camp and camping program and sponsor three international mission organizations.  Tomorrow I’m meeting with their Senior Minister and their Minister of Music and Liturgy.

I’ll spend another night with my parents and head home Tuesday.

Next week:  Florida!

In closing:  my thoughts were with the Avon Lake UCC community this morning; I keep a daily prayer list and remember especially those who are shouldering particularly difficult burdens at this time.

One thought on “Sabbatical, Week One

Leave a Reply

